The History of La Posada Hotel is inseparable from the History of Laredo. The hotel, which has long been the cultural and social center of social life in the city, sits on the banks of the Rio Grande with spectacular views of Mexico. The historical, luxury boutique hotel is built around four historical buildings.
The old Casa Consistorial, the municipal building that also housed a jail, used to stand where La Posada is now. In 1886 it was converted into the old Laredo High School until 1916 when it was torn down and a new school erected. It is there that Laredo’s youth attended classes until 1937 when Martin High School was opened. The old Laredo High School today is the main entrance to the hotel, and houses the Front Desk and Lobby, the Zaragoza Grill, meeting rooms, the Phillip V Ballroom, The Tesoro Club and the hotel’s administrative offices. Our ballrooms are located in what was once a 19th-century convent. The Capitol of the Republic of the Rio Grande dates back to the 1830’s and now houses a museum on the hotel grounds. The famous Tack Room Steak House is located in the elegant Bruni Home, which also dates from the 1800’s.
But we’re part of a larger story. Laredo itself has a long and fascinating history as a nexus of commerce between Mexico and America, as well as a point of contention between New and Old World countries throughout its lifetime. Take a trip and visit us to learn more about the rich history of Laredo and La Posada Hotel.
La Posada Hotel is grateful to the Herring Family and the Fasken Family for sharing their wonderful collection of historic photos. Here are a few of the photos: